do 2 cards with the same effect stack

Asked by mezz2296 8 years ago

playing edh with scion at the helm, using scions effect i send utvara hellkite to the grave, use recursion to bring utvara back and since dragon tempest is out, he has haste. Since both scion and utvara have the same effect, will 4 dragon tokens be generated off those effects when they both attack, or only 2?

TheVectornaut says... Accepted answer #1

It's helpful for others if you link cards involved in your question.

Scion of the Ur-Dragon, Utvara Hellkite, Dragon Tempest

The ability in question on Utvara Hellkite is a triggered ability. The rules only mention simultaneous triggers here:

"603.3b If multiple abilities have triggered since the last time a player received priority, each player, in APNAP order, puts triggered abilities he or she controls on the stack in any order he or she chooses. (See rule 101.4.) Then the game once again checks for and resolves state-based actions until none are performed, then abilities that triggered during this process go on the stack. This process repeats until no new state-based actions are performed and no abilities trigger. Then the appropriate player gets priority."

Notice that there is no mention of triggers with identical effects interfering with each other. Therefore, attacking with Scion of the Ur-Dragon (copying an Utvara Hellkite) and with Utvara Hellkite himself will generate 4 dragon tokens. Two of the trigger events will come from Scion of the Ur-Dragon seeing 2 dragons attack and the other two will come from Utvara Hellkite seeing 2 dragons attack.

March 14, 2017 4:06 p.m.

Please login to comment