Detention Sphere vs. Bounce

Asked by SteelNinja 6 years ago

Say I have two Goblin Electromancer s on the field and my opponent plays a Detention Sphere naming Goblin Electromancer . Will responding with Vapor Snag save both Goblins or just one?

Boza says... Accepted answer #1

If the target of detention sphere (one of the goblins) is not there by the time its ETB trigger resolves, it will fizzle and do nothing. One goblin will be in the hand safely, the other will be on the battlefield still.

November 28, 2014 5:40 a.m.

SteelNinja says... #2

I thought so. Thanks!

November 28, 2014 7:09 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #3

It depends on which Goblin you Snag. If you bounce the one being targeted by Detention Sphere's ability, the ability will be countered for lack of a legal target. If you bounce the other one, the one being targeted will still get exiled.

November 28, 2014 10:46 a.m.

This discussion has been closed