condescend and paying 0 for x

Asked by gheridarigaaz 12 years ago

Theoretically if you were playing against an idiotaor in some weird situation involving a Mindslaver and countered a spell with Condescend paying 0 for X could they choose not to pay 0 or would the rulings consider the cost paid or would they be able to allow the spell to be countered?

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

The choice about whether or not the cost of 0 will be paid still has to be made, and the result depends on that choice, even though in this special case paying and not paying aren't very different from one another. This is why you're allowed to Killing Wave for 0 and sacrifice all of your creatures (usually to kill with Blood Artist , etc.).

September 9, 2012 6:04 p.m.

BrokenZygoma says... #2

Yes, It's weird to think about since the mana result is the same, but If your opponent said "I refuse to pay 0 mana!!!" then the spell would get countered. If they said "I'll pay 0 mana!!!!!" THEN the cost is payed and the spell doesn't get countered. Even though there is no change in the board state between either path, It does in fact matter.

September 9, 2012 7:27 p.m.

BrokenZygoma says... #3

Yes, It's weird to think about since the mana result is the same, but If your opponent said "I refuse to pay 0 mana!!!" then the spell would get countered. If they said "I'll pay 0 mana!!!!!" THEN the cost is payed and the spell doesn't get countered. Even though there is no change in the board state between either path, It does in fact matter.

September 9, 2012 7:27 p.m.

This discussion has been closed