can you sacrifice evolving wilds after its been put in play using crucible of worlds?
Asked by benosmash 11 years ago
Crucible of Worlds is in play and Evolving Wilds is in the graveyard. I use crucible of world's ability to play evolving wilds from my graveyard. Can i, once evolving wilds is in play, sacrifice it to search my library for a land?
"12/1/2004 Crucible of Worlds doesn't allow you to activate activated abilities (such as cycling) of land cards in your graveyard."http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=129480
"An activated ability is an ability that can be activated by a player by paying a cost. The cost can be almost anything, such as sacrificing a permanent, paying mana, paying life, or tapping the permanent with the ability."http://wiki.mtgsalvation.com/article/Activated_ability
This is what we're trying to figure out, is evolving wilds being played from the graveyard, or being put back into play?
August 17, 2013 3:39 p.m.
I'm glad ypu asked, I have someone disputing our yes with the ruling that says: Crucible of Worlds doesn't allow you to activate activated abilities (such as cycling) of land cards in your graveyard. He's saying that the sacrifice ability can't be ised after it's been played from the graveyard
August 17, 2013 3:40 p.m.
cantdoright says... #4
You are putting it back in to play. Just like you would play a land card from your hand, you are treating the graveyard as a place to also play land from. This makes it really nice for always finding the land you need with this combo.
August 17, 2013 3:42 p.m.
Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #5
When you play the land, it isn't in the graveyard anymore. It's on the battlefield. It behaves as it normally would as a permanent.
The Oracle ruling is just making it clear that you can play the land cards from your graveyard, but you can't activate any of their abilities from the graveyard. They need to be permanents before you can activate those abilities. Crucible of Worlds only allows you to play the land itself from the yard.
August 17, 2013 3:58 p.m.
Gidgetimer says... #6
It specifies that you can't use activated abilities of the cards in the grave yard to prevent people from trying to use Onslaught lands Secluded Steppe or Urza'a Saga lands Drifting Meadow as retardedly powerful draw engines. It's already pretty bad that you can cycle them once and then play them from the graveyard.
Epochalyptik says... #1
Yes. Is there a reason you wouldn't be able to?
August 17, 2013 3:30 p.m.