Can I run Maze's End without Black?
Asked by CaoJin 7 years ago
Hello, I'm currently looking at refitting my alternate win cons deck into a more landfall/group hug approach using Kynaios and Tiro of Meletis as the commander with the aim of including Maze's End with it's landfall synergy.
I noticed that K+T do not have black in their identity but would that stop me including the Guildgates that feature black?
I seem to remember a ruling somewhere that you can generate mana outside of your identity in game (through effects like someone elses Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth etc)
If i'm wrong then fair enough, will have to hit the drawing board again :)
Neotrup says... Accepted answer #1
You cannot run cards with mana symbols outside your color identity, so you would not be able to use the black gates. you could still run Maze's End for landfall, but not to win. You could run Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth, as it doesn't use in its text.
April 28, 2018 12:57 p.m.