Can I entwine and/or kick off a cascade?
Asked by BiggRedd54 10 years ago
Also same goes for mandatory additional cost. If you're cascading to a Shrapnel Blast for example you either have to sacrifice an artifact or decline from casting the spell.
March 20, 2015 4:28 a.m.
BiggRedd54 says... #3
Cool, Let me just get a confirmation, and I'll mark it as the answer
March 20, 2015 4:53 a.m.
Yup. Here's the ruling about additional costs and alternative costs
117.9d If an alternative cost is being paid to cast a spell, any additional costs, cost increases, and cost reductions that affect that spell are applied to that alternative cost. (See rule 601.2e.)
Since Cascade lets you cast it for free, that's the alternative cost.
Draugo says... Accepted answer #1
Yes.
Both entwine and kicker are additional costs. Additional costs are separate from the mana cost and alternate casting costs in the sense that even if you're casting a spell without paying its mana cost you are still allowed to pay additional costs. You just have to announce you're paying the additional cost and then actually pay the cost.
March 20, 2015 4:26 a.m.