Can I delve a Soulflayer to cast another souflayer?

Asked by FatherLiir 10 years ago

Say I have a Soulflayer that enters the battlefield with First Strike, Trample, Haste, Hexproof, Flying and Deathtouch from delving a Ruthless Ripper, Gurmag Swiftwing, and Sagu Mauler.

As I declare it as an attacker, my opponent casts Fated Retribution to wipe the field and my Soulflayer goes to the graveyard.

On my next turn or on my Main Phase 2, if I were to Delve out the first Soulflayer to cast a second Soulflayer, does Soulflayer #2 Have all the abilities that Soulflayer #1 had?

Gidgetimer says... #1

The ability that gives Soulflayer his abilities functions only on the battlefield. When you delved the one in the graveyard for the second one he had none of the listed abilities.

January 29, 2015 10:02 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #2

When a card changes zones, the game treats it as a new object with no relation to what it was before (with a small handful of exceptions that don't apply here). The Soulflayer in the graveyard doesn't have any of the abilities that the one on the battlefield did before it died.

January 29, 2015 10:59 a.m.

FatherLiir says... #3

Thank you so much Gidgetimer and Rhadamanthus!! I figured that was the case, but I couldn't find any oracle rulings on Soulflayer's Gatherer page so I greatly appreciate the confirmation :-)

January 29, 2015 11:41 a.m.

This discussion has been closed