Can I copy Mirran Crusader with Evil Twin?

Asked by ThrashSkillz 13 years ago

I'm going to go to a standard tournament soon but I don't have any good cards against Mirran Crusader . I'm not sure this works, but Evil Twin 's copy ability doesn't target a specific creature, but any creature, so the protection from black of the crusader won't work right? So can I copy the crusader and remove him the next turn?

ZServ says... #1

No. "Destroy target creature." That's what matters. The second half of that just further limits the criteria to be met, "with the same name as this creature." It's considered targetting, sorry!

December 18, 2011 10:14 a.m.

MetalMeister says... #2

But it's actually a copy of the crusader + the extra ability, so won't the evil twin become a white permanent?

December 18, 2011 10:21 a.m.

IPyro92 says... #3

Yeah i think the twin will become a white permanent wiht a UB ability so it should be able to destroy the other crusader.

December 18, 2011 10:55 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #4

The important thing to note is that a copy of an object inherits that object's color because it derives color from mana cost.

706.2a A copy acquires the color of the object it's copying because that value is derived from its mana cost or color indicator. A copy acquires the abilities of the object it's copying because those values are derived from its rules text. A copy doesn't wind up with two values of each ability (that is, it doesn't copy the object's abilities and its rules text, then have that rules text define a new set of abilities).

Therefore, Evil Twin will become a white permanent when it copies Mirran Crusader . It will then be able to target the Mirran Crusader.

December 18, 2011 11:27 a.m.

maiden77 says... #5

lol wot and elegant yet awkward work around to kill the horrible Mirran Crusader :-) if your running blue hopefully you can just counter it lol

December 19, 2011 7:17 a.m.

ThiagoMaia says... #6

Well, sometimes spells just slip trough you without being able to counter them. If a creature like Mirran Crusader can resolve against a blue black control deck, the game could end right away, so it's good to have responses to dangerous stuff after they have resolved.

December 19, 2011 10:45 a.m.

maiden77 says... #7

Agreed there mate :-) make sure if you do counter it is a Dissipate in case a Sun Titan slips thru lol altho if a Sun Titan lands unpleasant things will happen to you anyway

December 19, 2011 11:07 a.m.

This discussion has been closed