Can I control more that one Legendary card if they are all completely different?

Asked by Darkmoses 7 years ago

I get that copies of the same legend cannot exist on anyone side of the board. But what if they are totally different.

i.e.: Oath of Ajani and Trostani, Selesnya's Voice.

Epochalyptik says... #1

The legend rule only cares about multiple copies of the same card. There's no limit on the number of different legendary permanents you can control.

February 17, 2017 11:41 a.m.

Neotrup says... #2

In fact you can even have two creatures that share partial names as long as they're not the exact same, for example you can have Mikaeus, the Lunarch and Mikaeus, the Unhallowed at the same time.

February 17, 2017 12:33 p.m.

Darkmoses says... #3

Could either you find any legal statements proving that? I'm gonna need it.

February 17, 2017 1:47 p.m.

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #4

704.5k If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player chooses one of them, and the rest are put into their owners' graveyards. This is called the "legend rule."

This is the rule that causes legendary permanents to be put in graveyards, and it specifically calls out that they have to have the same name. This references rule 201.2:

201.2. A card's name is always considered to be the English version of its name, regardless of printed language.

201.2a Two objects have the same name if their names are identical.

201.2b If an object has more than one name, it has the same name as another object if there are one or more names that both objects have in common.

201.2c Two or more objects have different names if there are no names that both objects have in common.

February 17, 2017 2:25 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #5

As far as your ability to have different legendary permanents, you won't find a rule explicitly stating that. The rules exist to define limitations, restrictions, and processes. They don't catalog everything that you're able to do. In this case; the lack of a rule saying you can't is probably the proof you want.

February 17, 2017 2:43 p.m.

Darkmoses says... #6

Works for me! Rules say there cannot be 2 of the same legend under my control. Says nothing about having different ones in play.

February 17, 2017 3:05 p.m.

Please login to comment