Can a card with X mana cost become cheaper?

Asked by lui1000 8 years ago

Can I summon Endless One as an 8/8 creature by paying 5 Mana, when I have Eye of Ugin and Herald of Kozilek in play?

IzzetGod says... #1

Yes you can. When you are casting a spell, you pay the mana as additional payments/reductions are made. So in your example. You would cast Endless One and when using your mana, Eye of Ugin and Herald of Kozilek will reduce the cost by 3. Therefore, X=8-3 X = 5

November 2, 2015 10:21 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

When you cast a spell with in its cost, you first declare the value of X. Then you choose targets, and lastly you pay costs. Costs are calculated based on the value you declared for X; X is not based on what you pay. The process of calculating the cost includes adding additional or increased costs and then subtracting cost reductions; cost reduction effects apply to the total cost, including , when appropriate.

November 2, 2015 10:32 a.m.

Gidgetimer says... #3

When you cast a spell with [X] in the cost you declare the value of [X]. What you pay for the spell is determined by mana symbols in the mana cost and the declared value of X modified by any additional cost or cost reductions. So yes you could declare X 8 and then after the reductions only have to pay 5.

November 2, 2015 10:32 a.m.

This discussion has been closed