Cacklin Counterpart

Asked by Jain_Mor 13 years ago

If I cast Cackling Counterpart and someone doomblades the creature im targeting, am I correct in assuming cackling now does nothing?

RiotMaker says... #1

The Cackling Counterpart hasn't hit the battlefield yet. It needs to choose another target.

November 22, 2011 1:53 p.m.

TimProctor says... Accepted answer #2

You have to assign the target as part of the casting of the spell, so when the spell attempts to resolve and finds that it has an illegal target it fizzles.

Clone , Phyrexian Metamorph , Evil Twin are all creatures that copy when they enter the battlefield so if they doomblade a creature these creatures would enter the battlefield an attempt to find a new target.

That is the difference between a spell and a creature.

November 22, 2011 2:10 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #3

TimProctor has the right answer. If a spell or ability has targets, and all of those targets are either missing or illegal when it's time for it to start resolving, then that spell or ability gets countered, and has no effect. Cackling Counterpart targets a creature, so it is subject to this rule about targets.

Cards like Clone , Phyrexian Metamorph , and Evil Twin have replacement effects that change what they enter the battlefield as, and the choice for that isn't made until after the spell has resolved and the card is about to enter the battlefield, and no one can respond to that choice being made (be sure to give your opponent a chance to respond after you cast the spell; don't start skipping ahead when you play it).

November 22, 2011 3:04 p.m.

RiotMaker says... #4

I totally forgot Cackling Counterpart wasn't a creature. My bad. :X

November 22, 2011 3:05 p.m.

Jain_Mor says... #5

Yea, this is all what I figured. Was secretly hoping it wasn't though. I guess that is why the made it instant :)

November 26, 2011 8 a.m.

This discussion has been closed