Burning tree emissary and blood rush
Asked by dragonchild2994 11 years ago
Burning-Tree Emissary
and Ghor-Clan Rampager
can you use the "free mana" to cast the blood rush at the beginning of combat or does all your mana empty phase by phase?
Really? So Plasm Capture 's mana can only be used on the first main phase? It empties by the combat phase?
June 10, 2014 1:44 p.m.
Servo_Token says... #4
I believe that in one of the more recent rules changes, mana now stays in the pool through steps. So for example, you can float mana through the combat phase. I'm not 100% on that one, but that is at least my local level 1 judge's ruling.
June 10, 2014 3:32 p.m.
GreatSword says... Accepted answer #5
It doesn't.
- 106.4. When an effect produces mana, that mana goes into a players mana pool. From there, it can be used to pay costs immediately, or it can stay in the players mana pool. Each players mana pool empties at the end of each step and phase.
June 10, 2014 3:47 p.m.
Epochalyptik says... #6
@ThatBlueMage: I have never heard of a change that altered when mana empties from mana pools.
@dragonchild2994: Please remember to select an answer to close the thread. Also, you don't cast abilities. You cast spells. Bloodrush is an activated ability; you activate it.
June 10, 2014 5:03 p.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #7
@Epochalyptik, ThatBlueMage: Mana pools only emptying at the end of every phase is from pre-M10 versions of the rules.
June 10, 2014 5:22 p.m.
dragonchild2994 says... #8
ah, all so helpful just checking, was at work all day. so in current standard, m14-m15, the mana does empty from phase to phase?
June 10, 2014 5:30 p.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #9
Not just phases, but at the end of every step as well. Example: if you made mana during the Beginning of Combat step, you wouldn't be able to save it for use during the Declare Attackers step.
GreatSword says... #1
No. Mana is emptied at the end of every phase and step. Unless you can somehow flash in your Emisary, you won't be able to use her mana for Bloodrush.
June 10, 2014 8:47 a.m.