Brutal Hordechief 's ability and hexproof

Asked by thatwendell 6 years ago

If I activate Brutal Hordechief 's ability and the only creatures my opponents control have hexproof, say an untapped Silumgar, the Drifting Death and Dragonlord Ojutai could I choose to have Dragonlord Ojutai block Brutal Hordechief ?

filledelanuit says... Accepted answer #1

They only time the hexproof or shroud matters is when a spell or ability specifically says "target". So in this case because Brutal Hordechief's ability doesn't say target you can still choose how your opponent's creatures block.

April 23, 2015 9:39 p.m.

pskinn01 says... #2

Hexproof means can't be targeted. Hordechief's ability is a non targeting ability since it would affect all creatures able to block. This is the same reason cards like Crux of Fate would be able to destroy a hexproof creature, as it doesn't target.

April 23, 2015 10:42 p.m.

This discussion has been closed