Rule clarification?

General forum

Posted on Sept. 25, 2013, 7:31 a.m. by Anfalas

Hey, this may or may not be a daft question, but I haven't run into this scenario before and didn't know quite how to approach it. Here we go.

I was playing a three-way battle royale with two of my friends. Player two had a Kavu Predator on the field, and I had sixteen 3/3 Elf creature tokens and Emmara Tandris - amongst others.

Now, what happened was Player one played a Congregate , causing Kavu Predator to gain 70 +1/+1 counters. Player two then attacked me with it. I blocked with my tokens, halting 48 of the damage, but because of Emmara Tandris , the damage was prevented.My question is whether or not Kavu Predator 's trample effect would still roll over to my life total, seeing how Emmara's ability says to prevent all damage that would be dealt to creature tokens.

Since we weren't sure, we took it as though the trample damage would roll over, killing me.

Any confirmation/clarification would be greatly appreciated. :)

"A 6/6 green creature with trample is blocked by a 2/2 creature with protection from green. The attacking creatures controller must assign at least 2 damage to the blocker, even though that damage will be prevented by the blockers protection ability. The attacking creatures controller can divide the rest of the damage as he or she chooses between the blocking creature and the defending player."

Your tokens won't die, but it'll still Trample over.

This belongs in Q&A

September 25, 2013 7:43 a.m.

chandlerwrx06 says... #3

Yes, it would trample over. The trample asigned the repective 3 damage to eat creature then the remainder tramples to you. Just like with Fog Bank

September 25, 2013 7:43 a.m.

Bellock86 says... #4

Technically in this scenario it's the attackers choice of how the "over damage" would be distributed as detailed by the ruling text commented by fluffybunnypants. The attacking player COULD CHOOSE to deal the damage to the creatures but any logical player would not for the obvious reason that nothing would be gained by doing so.

September 25, 2013 8:41 a.m.

Anfalas says... #5

Cheers guys. Good to know we chose the correct action then.

September 25, 2013 9:12 a.m.

strateupjee says... #6

So what would be the interaction between a 7/7 Advent of the Wurm trampler and a Boros Reckoner ? Because when I asked, I was told "the reckoner would still get to redirect 7 damage, however the controller also takes 4" which makes no sense because that is saying that the wurm has 11 damage to deal, or that trample is assigned weird, I would think that the reckoner only gets to assign 3 damage back and 4 carries over, right?

September 25, 2013 9:20 a.m.

Trample let's you assign the extra damage to the player or planeswalker you are attacking. So you must assign at least 3 to the reckoner because that's its toughness, the rest you can direct at your initial target, thus making the reckoner only able to deal 3 with its ability.

September 25, 2013 9:32 a.m.

This discussion has been closed