monstrosity

General forum

Posted on Oct. 12, 2013, 1:44 p.m. by ifarar

what is it and how do you use it

hiddengibbons says... #2

Monstrosity is a mechanic in Theros. You pay the cost, put the appropriate number of counters on the creature, and do whatever else its says when the creature becomes monstrous. I recommend activating monstrosity at the end of the opponent's turn or any other time you could play an instant or fast effect as it doesn't say that you can only activate monstrosity during your own turn or whenever you would cast a sorcery. At this point, if I had to choose the best Monstrosity creature, my vote would go to Stormbreath Dragon or Fleecemane Lion . Their monstrosity characteristics give you the most bang for your buck. It is important to note that simply putting +1/+1 counters on a creature does not make it monstrous, so you can't just use some other method to put 3 +1/+1 counters on a creature with Monstrosity 3 and then say that its monstrous. You have to pay the monstrosity cost. Monstrosity will add counters in addition to any that are already there.

October 12, 2013 1:55 p.m.

ifarar says... #3

ok so how do i pay the cost then if i cant play a spell to make it increase (kinda new to magic so )

October 12, 2013 1:59 p.m.

hiddengibbons says... #4

Monstrosity is what is called an "Activated Ability." You have to have the creature on the battle field before you can pay that mana cost to the left of the word "Monstrosity (number)"

October 12, 2013 2:06 p.m.

ifarar says... #5

ok when its on the field tap the amount of mana and it become monstrous

October 12, 2013 2:07 p.m.

GreatSword says... #6

Monstrous is an activated ability, which means you pay the cost to the use the ability. Think of it like casting a spell: you say you're going to activate the ability, you pay the cost, choose any necessary targets, make choices, etc, and then the spell or ability happens.

Lets take Fleecemane Lion as an example. While you have a Fleecemane Lion , you can say you're going to activate his Monstrous ability. You pay GW3, the ability goes on the stack, resolves, and he gains the +1/+1 counter, hexproof, and indestructibility. Boom, done.

October 12, 2013 2:08 p.m.

ifarar says... #7

what if its an x

October 12, 2013 2:09 p.m.

hiddengibbons says... #8

in the case of Polukranos, World Eater , theres two X's. This means that 2 mana will give you 1 for X. So 4 mana in addition to the first green one would give you 2 +1/+1 counters and then he deals 2 damage divided as you choose among target creatures.

October 12, 2013 2:14 p.m.

GreatSword says... #9

Again, same as casting a spell. You make choices (choose a value for X) and choose targets exactly as if it was casting a spell like Volcanic Geyser .

October 12, 2013 2:15 p.m.

ifarar says... #10

while were here whats a token

October 12, 2013 2:16 p.m.

GreatSword says... #11

Also, if you have any other questions about Magic, please use the "MTG Q+A" forum here. We're happy to answer anything there, but the General forum is more for open-ended discussion rather than definite rules-questions.

October 12, 2013 2:17 p.m.

GreatSword says... #12

A token is an object in the game that represents something, most often a creature. It has the properties described on the spell that created it.

Lets look at Call of the Conclave . It makes a 3/3 green centaur token. That means it's a creature with 3/3 stats, the color green, and the sub-type centaur with the name "Centaur". It has no converted mana cost.

October 12, 2013 2:21 p.m.

hiddengibbons says... #13

When a token creature leaves the battlefield, its gone. You don't put the token card in your hand, in your library, or in the graveyard. However, if it dies and goes to the graveyard, it will be there momentarily and trigger any effects of creatures going to the graveyard. I think of them almost like holograms

October 12, 2013 2:25 p.m.

This discussion has been closed