Fate Transfer Targeting
General forum
Posted on Oct. 30, 2013, 4:04 p.m. by Galvan
If a card is payed with 1 colorless and 1 black or blue ( Fate Transfer ) could it target a card that has protection from blue?
Only because Fate Transfer could be considered a card that is "black OR blue" and not "black AND blue"?
Thank you for clearing that up for me, one of my decks is now void haha.
And I'll be sure to put it in the Q&A next time, didn't occur to me until after I posted it.
October 30, 2013 4:09 p.m.
Epochalyptik says... #4
@Krayhaft: Technically speaking, color identity is only used in the EDH format, and color identity only affects deck construction and a few game rules. Here, we're talking about a card's actual color.
October 30, 2013 5:15 p.m.
Epochalyptik - This is true. So I was asking because what this deck does is by using Fate Transfer to take counters from a green creature with pro blue and move them elsewhere around the field. So if the card can be paid with B or U couldn't it technically be considered black if pay it with black?
Though I still may be wrong, and most likely am.
October 30, 2013 6 p.m.
Fate Transfer
is both a black and blue card. Just like Psychatog
is both black and blue card.
A cards color is specified in its casting cost. However, if the text of the card specifically states otherwise then in that case, that is the color of the card. Examples are: Wheel of Fate
, and Transguild Courier
.
Hope this helps answer your question.
October 30, 2013 6:15 p.m.
Also to answer your question, it doesn't matter which color you pay to play Fate Transfer it is still a blue and black card. ;)
October 30, 2013 6:17 p.m.
Epochalyptik says... #9
The color of a card is always determined by its mana cost, color indicators, and characteristic-defining abilities.
Fate Transfer has a U/B hybrid mana symbol in its mana cost, no color indicators, and no characteristic-defining abilities. Hybrid mana symbols always count as both colors, so Fate Transfer is always a UB multicolor card.
Krayhaft says... #2
This should be in the Q&A subforum.
You can't target a creature with pro-blue with a card like Fate Transfer . This is because the color identity of Fate Transfer , as well as all hybrid cards, is multicolor, with the colors of all its color components.
So a U/B hybrid card like Fate Transfer is black AND blue multicolored, regardless of the color of mana you used to pay for it.
October 30, 2013 4:06 p.m.