Question about a mill situation...

Deck Help forum

Posted on Sept. 29, 2014, 6:13 a.m. by Crivaro

I have this deck for quite some years now: Mill-Stick

If I have Mesmeric Orb in game and untap 9 cards, do I get 9 triggers on the stack? And if so, may I choose the order of the cards or do they get there one after another? How about effects like Gaea's Blessing ? What if I got some more Accumulated Knowledge in my Graveyard and then have a Gaea's Blessing put in the grave from my library? Can I react and play another Accumulated Knowledge from my hand to get those cards before they are all put back? And also: Does the Gaea's Blessing triggers AFTER all cards hit the graveyard or if the Gaea's Blessing is the 4th card put there it all will be mixed together and then I put another 5 cards in the grave? Also: Is the Gaea's Blessing put back in the library also, since it hit the graveyard?

Thanks in advance! =)Cheers, Crivaro

Seraphicate says... #2

Mesmeric Orb triggers for each individual permanent that untaps. Gaea's Blessing is a triggered ability that triggers when milled. Both use the stack, and can be responded to, so you CAN resolve an Accumulated Knowledge to draw, before Gaea's Blessing 's mill ability resolve, and have them shuffled back into the library, like an opponent sacrificing Tormod's Crypt to respond to Gaea's Blessing .

September 29, 2014 6:52 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

First, rules questions should be asked in the Q&A, which is linked in the header bar.

Mesmeric Orb generates one trigger per permanent untapped. You're not really choosing an order because the cards are milled (meaning they're part of your randomized library prior to Mesmeric Orb 's ability's resolution), but you could respond to the triggers, and any abilities that trigger between resolutions will resolve before the rest of the instances of Mesmeric Orb 's ability.

I'm not really sure what you're asking about Gaea's Blessing . If it is milled, its ability triggers and you put that ability onto the stack, in this case above any Mesmeric Orb triggers still on the stack. Gaea's Blessing itself will be shuffled into its owner's library as part of the resolution of its ability because it is in the graveyard when the ability resolves (it actually has to be in the graveyard when the ability triggers because that's how the ability triggers at all).

Milling Accumulated Knowledge will do nothing immediately, but it will increase the number of cards you'll draw for resolving another Accumulated Knowledge later. Accumulated Knowledge only counts the number of cards named Accumulated Knowledge in all graveyards; it doesn't care how those cards got there.

You should work on wording your questions more clearly.

September 29, 2014 8:30 a.m.

MindAblaze says... #4

You could theoretically cast an Accumulated Knowledge from your hand in response to the Gaea's Blessing trigger. If you had the card and the mana.

September 29, 2014 11:01 a.m.

This discussion has been closed