Will Coat of Arms work with Land Creatures?

Asked by dluvdaddy 7 months ago

If you have two land creatures in play will coat of arms give each +1/+1?

Gidgetimer says... #1

Please link all cards in your question using double brackets.

Coat of Arms

No, "Land" is not a creature type. Creature types are the list of subtypes shared by creature and tribal card types. The entire list is found in rule 205.3m in the Comprehensive rules

August 5, 2018 1:12 a.m.

Neotrup says... #2

Often times though they will. Many effects that turn land into creatures will make them elementals. If the animation gives them a shared type, Coat of Arms will effect then properly, you just have to make sure your giving them creature types.

August 5, 2018 4:48 a.m.

pskinn01 says... Accepted answer #3

Only if what turns into a creature, gives a creature type. Most do. And it will only see the creature type that is granted. If a land is turned into an elemental, and another land is a dryad, they will not buff each other.

August 7, 2018 11:14 a.m.

Geralf_Cecani says... #4

Bit of explanation: a creature type is what is known as a 'subtype'. Other subtypes include 'aura', 'equipment' and the names of planeswalkers. They are found after the hyphen on the type line. Land, Creature and Enchantment are examples of card 'types'. They are before the hyphen. Since Coat of Arms cares about the creature type, which is a subtype of 'creature', then it doesn't include 'land'.

Incidentally, Coat of Arms doesn't anthem two legendary creatures, as legendary is a 'supertype', like snow and world.

August 8, 2018 1:27 a.m.

Please login to comment