When turning a manifested constellation creature face up, does it constellation ability trigger or not?

Asked by TheGodofNight 4 years ago

I used Mastery of the Unseen to manifest a Doomwake Giant at the end of my opponent's turn. On my turn, I turned it face up, but was told that Doomwake Giant 's constellation ability doesn't trigger since he was technically already on the battlefield, which additionally didn't trigger 2 face up Underworld Coinsmith s. I was just looking for a ruling on this, as I wasn't 100% sure that what I was told was correct. Any help clarifying this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

erabel says... Accepted answer #1

From the comprehensive rules about Morph (important bit bolded):

702.36d Any time you have priority, you may turn a face-down permanent you control face up. This is a special action; it doesnt use the stack (see rule 115). To do this, show all players what the permanents morph cost would be if it were face up, pay that cost, then turn the permanent face up. (If the permanent wouldnt have a morph cost if it were face up, it cant be turned face up this way.) The morph effect on it ends, and it regains its normal characteristics. Any abilities relating to the permanent entering the battlefield don't trigger when it's turned face up and don't have any effect, because the permanent has already entered the battlefield.

April 22, 2015 10:15 p.m.

TheGodofNight says... #2

Cool, thank you for clarifying erabel.

April 22, 2015 10:17 p.m.

This discussion has been closed