When does a sacrifice's death ability go on the stack?

Asked by Daemon6437 5 months ago

If I sacrifice my Hangarback Walker as a cost to activate another card's ability (for example, Throne of Geth) how do the abilities stack? Do I get Hangarback Walker's thopter tokens before Throne of Geth's ability resolves, or after?

I was hoping I could sacrifice Walker to Throne's ability, get my army of thopter tokens, then tap a Steel Overseer in response to Throne's activation, putting a counter on all the thopters, then let Throne proliferate those counters, and end up with 3/3 thopters instead of 1/1s

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

Triggered abilities go on the stack right before the next time a player would receive priority after they trigger. Hangarback Walker is sacrificed during the activation of Throne of Geth's ability, so the next time a player would receive priority is going to be after the activation, when the proliferate ability is on the stack.

TL;DR: The way you want it to work is the way it works.

January 12, 2018 5:16 p.m.

Daemon6437 says... #2

Awesome! Thanks!

January 12, 2018 5:35 p.m.

Please login to comment