understanding champion

Asked by damik005 2 years ago

iIwas thinking how Nova Chaser resolves, if i use Brion Stoutarm 's ability just after casting Nova Chaser

according to the rules:
702.71a Champion represents two triggered abilities. “Champion an [object]” means “When this permanent enters the battlefield, sacrifice it unless you exile another [object] you control” and “When this permanent leaves the battlefield, return the exiled card to the battlefield under its owner’s control.”

So it gets to the batlefield first, then i put the Brion Stoutarm 's ability on the stack it resolving first.
Is it correct, or it is sacrificed before been able to use the ability?

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #1

As you correctly pointed out, Champion is a triggered ability (well, two triggered abilities really), and as such can be responded to. When the champion ability resolves you will still have the option to exile an elemental you control, but if you do it will never come back, and you certainly won't have to.

February 15, 2017 7:33 p.m.

damik005 says... #2

oh, ok thanks

February 15, 2017 9:08 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #3

Please select an answer to remove this question from the unanswered queue.

February 16, 2017 8:33 a.m.

Please login to comment