Triggering Yahenni, undying partisans +1/+1 ability by gaining control and sacing an opponents creature

Asked by MTGStevieD 8 months ago

Say you use a Hijack on a opponents creature and then sac it to Yahenni, Undying Partisan Does Yahenni, Undying Partisan gain the +1/+1 for an opponents creature dying? Or no because it died while it was under your control?

darkmatter32x says... #1

603.10d Abilities that trigger when a player loses control of an object look back in time.

You control the creature even though it goes into your opponent's grave. Yahenni doesn't get the counter.

March 12, 2018 3:05 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #2

Also, "dies" triggers look at the last moment the creature was still on the battlefield to determine if and how they trigger. At that moment, your opponent didn't control the creature.

March 12, 2018 11:25 a.m.

MTGStevieD says... #3

Thanks for the answers. That what I was thinking just wanted some clarification.

March 12, 2018 11:35 a.m.

Please login to comment