Trample vs invincible?

Asked by GrantHavok 3 years ago

If I have five token copies of Spawnwrithe because of Doubling Season, and my opponent uses a 6/6 creature with the Roar of Challenge do all my tokens die, and do any do damage to my opponent?

acbooster says... Accepted answer #1

Trample only applies when you're attacking, and if I'm reading this right you're blocking the 6/6 with your 5 Spawnwrithe tokens. The 6/6 will not die and your opponent will be able to kill off three of the tokens.

Now let's flip this and say you're attacking with a 6/6 trample and it's blocked by a 2/2 with indestructible. Trample doesn't care if a creature dies or not, just if lethal damage was assigned to it. If something stops the creature from dying, e.g. indestructible, protection, or regenerate, the extra damage will still trample over.

September 30, 2016 11:37 p.m.

This discussion has been closed