Slaying Mantis vs infinite creatures

Asked by chosenone124 1 year ago

My opponent did something with Infinity Elemental and he has infinite tokens, which we denoted by drawing the infinity symbol on a piece of paper and putting it on the battlefield. He has a finite life total.

I cast Slaying Mantis. So if Slaying Mantis touches the piece of paper with the infinity on it, does that count as fighting all of the infinite tokens?

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #1

Sure. Why not? I'm pretty sure Slaying Mantis and all the tokens will die from that.

December 6, 2017 1:38 a.m.

Blo says... #2

Unless fight in the un-sets is somehow different from the fight mechanic on cards like Hunt the Weak, I think you should only kill 6 of them. The reason being that you can only have 2 creatures fight at once (as is stated somewhere in the rules).
But you can choose the order in which you fight I guess. I think this is the first card that allows multiple fights though, so not sure :/

December 6, 2017 4:03 a.m.

chosenone124 says... #3

Bio All the fights happen at the same time. Even if it was a one by one fight, Mantis wouldn't die to damage until after state based actions check.

December 6, 2017 7:44 a.m.

Blo says... #4

This is because all the fighting comes from a single spell/ability? And as such there is no time in between the fights to check SBAs? (I dont completely follow, so please elaborate :-)).

December 6, 2017 9:04 a.m.

Neotrup says... #5

Yes, it is because all the fights come from a single ability. State based actions are only checked when a player would receive priority, not in the middle of a spell or ability resolving. It's the reason why the ability on Vein Drinker where it deals it's damage first still functions almost identically to fight, because even if it kills the other creature that creature doesn't die until after it deals it's damage.

December 6, 2017 12:19 p.m.

Blo says... #6

allrighty. thanks!

December 8, 2017 7:10 a.m.

Please login to comment