Portal Mage interaction

Asked by DarkMagician 2 months ago

If I cast Portal Mage during my opponents declare blockers step while I control Willbreaker can I gain control of the targeted creature and have it attack it's previous owner? Or will I have to pick who it attacks before I gain control of it? If the latter is the case and me and the attacking player are the only players does the creature still attack me after I take control of it?

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

No, unfortunately this won't work. The reminder text on Portal Mage ("it can't attack its controller or its controller's planeswalkers") has to do with a game rule that essentially says the same thing. However, there's another rule that says changing control of an attacking or blocking creature removes it from combat. When Willbreaker gives you control of the attacker it stops being an attacking creature. Portal Mage's ability will end up getting countered for lack of a legal target.

September 11, 2017 4:23 p.m.

Please login to comment