Portal Mage

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Commander 2017 (C17) Rare

Combos Browse all

Related Questions

Portal Mage

Creature — Human Wizard

Flash

If Portal Mage enters the battlefield during the declare attackers step, you may reselect the player or planeswalker that the target attacking creature attacks.

Browse Alters

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

C17

Ebay

Have (4) Raknamadak , Vasbear1 , ShishkyBob , KillDatBUG
Want (0)

Recent Decks

Load more

Portal Mage Discussion

usaDiabetic on Wizarding world of Harry Potter

1 month ago

With Inalla, I think you want more wizards like Sea Gate Oracle, Dualcaster Mage, Portal Mage, Havengul Lich, Stonybrook Banneret, and Venser, Shaper Savant.

Also maybe some emergency sweepers like Blasphemous Act, Cyclonic Rift and Toxic Deluge.

I think the best two commander's out out the wizard precon where Kess, dissident mage and Mairsil, the Pretender...your deck as of no seems to want to be more of a Kess deck.

So I think you have a tough call on where you want to go. Either way it's a good build so far, just needs a little tightening up.

Rhadamanthus on Portal Mage interaction

1 month ago

No, unfortunately this won't work. The reminder text on Portal Mage ("it can't attack its controller or its controller's planeswalkers") has to do with a game rule that essentially says the same thing. However, there's another rule that says changing control of an attacking or blocking creature removes it from combat. When Willbreaker gives you control of the attacker it stops being an attacking creature. Portal Mage's ability will end up getting countered for lack of a legal target.

DarkMagician on Portal Mage interaction

1 month ago

If I cast Portal Mage during my opponents declare blockers step while I control Willbreaker can I gain control of the targeted creature and have it attack it's previous owner? Or will I have to pick who it attacks before I gain control of it? If the latter is the case and me and the attacking player are the only players does the creature still attack me after I take control of it?

Tyrant-Thanatos on Portal Mage redirection

1 month ago

Yes. The game doesn't move on to the Declare Blockers step until all players have passed priority on an empty stack during the Declare Attackers step. so:

A attacks B with Ulamog's Crusher.

Annihilator goes on the stack.

There is a round of priority, in which each player, starting with the active player, gets priority. At this point, C may flash in Portal Mage.

Should all players pass priority, Annihilator resolves.

There is another round of priority, at which point C has another opportunity to cast Portal Mage.

Tyrant-Thanatos on Portal Mage redirection

1 month ago

Portal Mage

This depends on when Player C flashes in Portal Mage. Annihilator is a triggered ability that goes on the stack after attackers have been declared. If Player C flashes in before that ability resolves, it will affect the new Defending Player. If player C chooses instead to wait until after Annihilator has resolved, obviously, it will still affect player B.