multiple Scourge of the Throne triggers

Asked by abenz419 2 years ago

If I copy my Scourge of the Throne with Mirage Mirror and attack the person with the highest life total, both dragons will trigger to untap and give an additional combat phase. Will I get two additional combat phases or do the abilities not stack?

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

Yes, you get two additional combat phases after this one (creating additional phases or turns always"stacks"). Unfortunately there won't be another "untap your stuff" event in-between those two extra combats, which might make it a little more difficult to fully exploit them.

August 17, 2017 4:42 p.m.

Neotrup says... #2

You will get two additional combat phases, however keep in mind most of your attacking creatures will be tapped down from the second attack. Alternatively, if two opponents have more life than you, you could send your attack, except for one for one of the dragons at the player with the most life, then on the second combat send in with the second dragon (who didn't attack at all on the first combat) at the player who now has the highest life total, sending the rest of your forces wherever you like. This will cause the untap triggers to be sequenced right so your creatures will actually be able to attack during your extra combats.

August 17, 2017 4:42 p.m.

abenz419 says... #3

quick follow up...... would activating Mirage Mirror a second time targeting the Scourge of the Throne before the second combat cause it to be a new instance of Scourge allowing me to possibly trigger it on the second combat to untap if I attack the player with the highest life total? Or, would the game recognize it's the same permanent and not meet the "attacks for the first time" clause because the mirror never actually changed zones just copied the dragon again?

August 17, 2017 8:10 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #4

That won't work, for two reasons:

  • When a card uses its own name in the text of an ability it just means "this object, right here", and the Mirror/Scourge would be the same object that already attacked earlier in the turn.
  • Unlike some other copy cards with an ability like that, Mirage Mirror doesn't retain its activated ability when it becomes a copy of something. You'll have to wait until the copy effect wears off to use it again.
August 17, 2017 11:09 p.m.

abenz419 says... #5

ok yeah, it was a spur of the moment question after reading the responses before. I hadn't really thought about/noticed Mirage Mirror not retaining it's ability after it copies something but if I was sitting here with the cards in hand at the time I would have realized the answer to my question was right in front of me. Thanks

August 17, 2017 11:20 p.m.

Please login to comment