Mairsil and Blinking

Asked by Spirit_Logan 7 months ago

If I put a card that can pay mana to blink itself under Mairsil, the Pretender and then activate that ability, does Mairsil blink and reenter, putting another creature into exile? Also, Mairsil says that you can only activate each ability once per turn. Does it see that the blink ability has already activated?

Spirit_Logan says... #1

@Rhadamanthus I saw that you liked to answer questions here. Do you have an answer to my question? Sorry to bother you.

February 10, 2018 4:55 p.m.

shinobigarth says... Accepted answer #2

Yeah if you use an ability to blink Mairsil then you can put another cage on something else.

You can activate each ability once. So i think if you caged 2 of the same creature, you could activate the same ability once for each of them.

February 10, 2018 5:49 p.m.

Spirit_Logan says... #3

thanks

February 10, 2018 5:57 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #4

Also of note is that cards that leave the battlefield and then re-enter are considered different permanents. So, the Mairsil, the Pretender that enters is not the same one that already activated the ability so it can activate it again.

February 10, 2018 11:16 p.m.

shinobigarth says... #5

thats correct. i dont know i was thinking.

February 10, 2018 11:57 p.m.

Spirit_Logan says... #6

Does the same apply for bouncing?

February 11, 2018 10:26 a.m.

Gidgetimer says... #7

If Mairsil ever leaves the battlefield in any way and returns it is a new permanent that hasn't activated any abilities. So yes bouncing and recasting or dying and reanimating will also allow you to activate abilities again.

February 11, 2018 12:37 p.m.

Spirit_Logan says... #8

thanks!

February 11, 2018 12:42 p.m.

Please login to comment