Mairsil, the Pretender

Legality

Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Leviathan Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Commander 2017 (C17) Mythic Rare

Combos Browse all

Mairsil, the Pretender

Legendary Creature — Human Wizard

When Mairsil, the Pretender enters the battlefield, you may exile an artifact or creature card from your hand or graveyard and put a cage counter on it.

Mairsil, the Pretender has all activated abilities of all cards you own in exile with cage counters on them. You may activate each of those abilities only once each turn.

Browse Alters

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

Ebay

Recent Decks

Load more

Mairsil, the Pretender Discussion

sonnet666 on Should WotC Allow All PW ...

1 day ago

For people on the "ban Doubling Season" hype train here. Here are all the commanders that go infinite with a single card:

Ad that's not even counting all the cards that are essentially a 1 card combo in and of themselves, like:

Or all the commanders who win the game automatically if you can get a simple infinite mana combo off, which are too many to list here.

My point is that Commander is already super broken on a competitive level because the RC doesn't care about banning competitive cards. Having Doubling Season with PW commanders doesn't even come close to the level of broken that's already possible in EDH, and it would be stupid to ban it. (Especially since it's a lot harder to cheat out a 5 mana enchantment than a lot of the combos I listed above.)

On another note, I think Nissa, Vital Force would make a super awesome Gaea's Cradle commander.

Entrei on [List - Multiplayer] EDH Generals by Tier

1 week ago

Oh god. Does Azor's Gateway have the interaction with Mairsil, the Pretender I think it does? If it does it's entirely possible for him to go up a tier

Varinoth on The Hottest Mixtape in Dominaria

2 weeks ago

I'd 100% cut Reassembling Skeleton as Mairsil, the Pretender cannot use the ability while in the graveyard.

LordMithos on Mairsil, the Uber Villain

2 weeks ago

Forgive my dumbness if I'm just overlooking something silly, but isn't it the case that once you blink Mairsil, the Pretender he will have summoning sickness again? Which to my knowledge stops your infinite mana combo with Gilded Lotus as he can't tap again that turn unless you have a way to give him haste. Otherwise your deck looks like a lot of fun, well done!

jotjot on Can Mairsil, the Pretender activate ...

3 weeks ago

i have Mairsil, the Pretender on the battlefield with 3 creatures exiled by it. (Quicksilver Elemental would be 1 of the 3 creatures.) As long as i have blue mana to activate Quicksilver Elemental's activated ability by Mairsil, the Pretender, can i activate Mairsil, the Pretender's 3 abilities multiple times?

jotjot on Legendary rule trigger enters the ...

4 weeks ago

Rite of Replication targets Mairsil, the Pretender. Do I get 5 etb triggers from the copied Mairsils before it dies due to legendary rule.

Razulghul on Is it Better to include ...

1 month ago

In my opinion red is really important for artifact matters, in edh the recursion from Trash for Treasure, Goblin Welder, Scrap Mastery and Daretti, Scrap Savant is invaluable. Jeskai doesn't really have a artifacts matter commander but you still have the partners and you could totally make a Shu Yun, the Silent Tempest deck that would be a lot of fun since artifacts trigger prowess. Eggs is a pretty fun way to go imo and you would have access to Chandra's Ignition as a win on.

Alternatively you could go Grixis with Mairsil, the Pretender which I think would be really fun though I haven't put it together myself yet.

chosenone124 on Another Grusilda, Monster Masher question ...

1 month ago

I believe that they can. The reason is that if you read Grusilda, Monster Masher's reminder text, she doesn't copy abilities like a card like Mairsil, the Pretender. She copies text boxes: in other words, literal text.

Referring back to earlier:

607.2a If an object has an activated or triggered ability printed on it that instructs a player to exile one or more cards and an ability printed on it that refers either to the exiled cards or to cards exiled with [this object], these abilities are linked. The second ability refers only to cards in the exile zone that were put there as a result of an instruction to exile them in the first ability.

The fused monster's Text Box reads: "Whenever Ulamog attacks, exile... You may play cards exiled with Kheru Mind Eater"

Breaking it down:

Their text boxes are fused. That means the object has both those abilities printed on it, fulfilling 607.2a's if clause to link the abilities. Cards who merely copy abilities don't link their exiles to the special second part, since those copied abilities are not printed on the card. However, Grusilda manipulates an object's printed text.

Load more

Latest Commander