Livewire lash

Asked by Ohthenoises 6 years ago

can the proliferate mechanic be used to trigger this ping effect? i know it wouldn't work for the Contagion ClaspMTG Card: Contagion Clasp style effect but from Grim AfflictionMTG Card: Grim Affliction maybe?

Ohthenoises says... #1

March 5, 2012 7:29 p.m.

yoshipwnz555 says... #2

Proliferate itself would not, because it does not target. Proliferate "chooses", thus the shock ability not triggered. However, with the Grim Affliction example, you can target your own creature to get the -1-1 counter in order to trigger the livewire lash, if you so want to. In general, something is only targeted if the card says "Target ...."

March 5, 2012 7:32 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #3

Proliferation doesn't target anything. Livewire LashMTG Card: Livewire Lash's granted ability will only trigger when the equipped creature becomes the target of a spell.

Grim AfflictionMTG Card: Grim Affliction would cause the ability to trigger, but not because it proliferates - only because another clause of the spell targets.

March 5, 2012 7:33 p.m.

Ohthenoises says... #4

that's what i thought thanks for the reassurance.

March 5, 2012 7:38 p.m.

This discussion has been closed