Legendary rule in edh

Asked by shift 2 years ago

I heard th legendary rule doesn't apply on edh because people may play the same general but does it apply to generals only or all? Riku of Two Reflections copying is y I ask

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

The Legendary Rule always applies. Some play groups have a "house rule" that it doesn't apply to opposing players' Commanders, but that isn't part of the standard rules for the format.

December 9, 2011 2:51 p.m.

ExNagol says... #2

Commander (EDH) is subject to the Legend rule; they will be put into the graveyard or command zone at the same time as any other Legendary creatures with the same name.

December 9, 2011 3:51 p.m.

Polaris says... #3

Most people have a house rule that says if two people have the same Commander then the legend rule doesn't apply between those two CARDS. If someone gets another of that legend into play somehow they all die to the legend rule.

December 10, 2011 3:17 a.m.

Polaris says... #4

This is why Animar, Intet, and Edric, Spymaster of Trest are the only legends I run in deck:the-splintered-mirror. Riku just doesn't work well with legends.

December 10, 2011 3:19 a.m.

wetapthat says... #5

at our magic we all choose a commander so there are no conflicts, then where u finished in the last league is what number u get to pick ur commander

so if u won the league u get to choose ur commander first, second chooses second etc. never a clash.

Polaris was right in saying "If someone gets another of that legend into play somehow they all die to the legend rule."

December 10, 2011 5:49 a.m.

SaberTech says... #6

I've heard a house rule that some people play by where if there are two of the same legendary on the field, and one of them is a general, then the general stays and the nongeneral goes to the graveyard.

I think it's basically a rule to prevent clone effects from killing generals. It's definitely a rule that someone running a general like Thrun or Uril would appreciate.

December 10, 2011 1:17 p.m.

Please login to comment