Is Sidisi + Greater Good + Kozilek + 2 dredge creatures in the Graveyard = Infinite zombies?

Asked by MagicBlake 5 years ago

Disclaimer - This is based on the assumption that every instance of dredge caused by Greater Good successfully triggers Sidisi, Brood Tyrant.

I am a little unsure about how dredging Kozilek, Butcher of Truth into the yard will effect the combo. Will the dredge creatures still be in my hand or will one (or both) be discarded and get swept away into the library when Kozilek hits the yard? Does it matter if Kozilek is dreged on the first draw or the second?

Sorry if this is confusing, I dont understand dredge that well and I am new to Magic.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

Exactly what's going on is a little unclear, but I think I get it. This isn't "infinite", but it is big and repeatable across turns if you can set it up again each time.

If you discard the dredge creatures to Greater Good then they'll be in the graveyard when Kozilek shuffles it up. This is because Kozilek's ability is a triggered ability (starts with "when/whenever/at"). A triggered ability will trigger whenever the appropriate event happens, but it waits to be put onto the stack until the next time a player gets priority. This means Kozilek will trigger when being dredged into the graveyard during the resolution of Greater Good's ability, but the trigger doesn't go onto the stack until after you've finished resolving Greater Good's ability. Note that Sidisi also triggers during the resolution of Greater Good's ability, and you'll get to decide the order that her and Kozilek's triggers are put onto the stack (since you control them both).

That last part is important, because it means you can use one of the Zombies from Sidisi's ability to activate Greater Good in response to Kozilek's trigger, before it starts resolving. You can keep going this way until you run out of library, at which point you'll have to stop and let Kozilek shuffle everything back in.

April 28, 2015 3:19 p.m.

MagicBlake says... #2

Rhadamanthus,

Thanks for answering my question, but most of all thanks for adding that part on the end about being able to "use" the rest of the cards in my library with Kozilek's trigger still on the stack. That last part, pure genius!

April 28, 2015 3:55 p.m.

This discussion has been closed