Hypothetical Interaction between Deicide , Mutavault , and Enchanted Evening .

Asked by chrizzilla 5 years ago

If I have an Enchanted Evening out and my opponent animates a Mutavault , could I Deicide all of his Mutavaults away, or would the Mutavault not technically be a god "card"?

filledelanuit says... Accepted answer #1

No. Deicide checks to see of Mutavault the card has the creature type "God". It checks the cards characteristics of the card when it was in exile.

A bit of a technicality if Deicide checked the creature type while it was on the battlefield it wouldn't exile the other god cards in the deck if the god wasn't active because it loses its creature types while it isn't a creature.

July 30, 2014 7:39 p.m.

Named_Tawyny says... #2

Same would apply to changeling cards, yes?

July 30, 2014 8:31 p.m.

filledelanuit says... #3

No that is not correct. Changeling says that the creature is all creature types at all times. So they would be completely removed from the deck. Mutavault is only all creature types after its ability has been activated and while it is on the battlefield.

July 30, 2014 8:59 p.m.

EddCrawley says... #4

Deicide

Mutavault

I have been looking over this one and I think that all copies of Mutavault not in play should be exiled, as the card states;

Exile target enchantment, - ok, clear enough so far.

If the exiled card is a God card - which an activated Mutavault is, as it has all creature types.

search the controllers graveyard, hand and library for any number of cards with the same name as that card and exile them - it only stipulates same name, not that these cards also need to be the God sub-type.

July 31, 2014 6:15 a.m.

Tunde says... #5

4/26/2014 Deicide looks at the card in exile, not the permanent that was exiled, to determine if it is a God. For each of the Gods in the Theros block, it wont matter what your devotion to its color(s) was. The card is a God card when not on the battlefield.

July 31, 2014 9:08 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #6

@EddCrawley: "The exiled card" is not animated, because Mutavault stops being a creature when it leaves the battlefield. A regular, un-animated Mutavault doesn't have any creature types. If Deicide said "that enchantment" instead of "the exiled card", then it would be referring to the object as it last existed on the battlefield, but that's not how it's written.

July 31, 2014 11:42 a.m.

EddCrawley says... #7

Ah, I think I understand, Thank you.

August 1, 2014 6:34 a.m.

This discussion has been closed