Exchange control of Mirror Entity = opponent's creatures die?

Asked by sergiodelrio 4 years ago

Let's say I have Bazaar Trader and Mirror Entity in play.

I activate Mirror Entity 's ability for = and while the ability is on the stack, I respond with Bazaar Trader 's ability and use it to donate Mirror Entity . Do my opponent's creatures die, or does the "you" in Mirror Entity still refer to me?

GreatSword says... #1

Your second assumption is correct. "You" always refers to the controller of the object, in this case the activated ability of Mirror Entity. Even if you gave away control of the creature while the ability is on the stack, you would still control the ability. Your creatures would still become 0/0's.

July 25, 2015 3:46 p.m.

merrowMania says... Accepted answer #2

Here's the relevant rule

112.7a Once activated or triggered, an ability exists on the stack independently of its source. Destruction or removal of the source after that time wont affect the ability. Note that some abilities cause a source to do something (for example, Prodigal Pyromancer deals 1 damage to target creature or player) rather than the ability doing anything directly. In these cases, any activated or triggered ability that references information about the source because the effect needs to be divided checks that information when the ability is put onto the stack. Otherwise, it will check that information when it resolves. In both instances, if the source is no longer in the zone its expected to be in at that time, its last known information is used. The source can still perform the action even though it no longer exists.

July 25, 2015 4:09 p.m.

sergiodelrio says... #3

Alright, thank you folks! I thought I had found something useful xD

July 25, 2015 4:16 p.m.

This discussion has been closed