Does this mean infinite turns?

Asked by OwlGamer16 11 months ago

I was looking to make an infinite turns deck when an idea popped into my head. Isochron Scepter + Mask of the Mimic + Emrakul, the Aeons Torn . But what I'm worried about is how Emrakul's protection from colored spells interacts with Isochron Scepter's ability. Can you not target Emrakul since it's technically a colored spell?

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

No, you won't be able to target Emrakul with the Mask. Even though you're casting a copy of Mask using the Scepter's ability, the copy of Mask is still a colored spell, so Emrakul's protection means you can't choose it as a target.

There's another issue with what you're trying to do: Emrakul's extra-turn ability triggers when you cast it as a spell. It won't trigger if you put it onto the battlefield with some other effect. Even if you were to find a way to target Emrakul with Mask of the Mimic (complicated, but not impossible), you wouldn't get an extra turn when it's put onto the battlefield because you didn't cast it.

I can't tell for sure if there's also one more issue, but I'll address it just in case: If you target the same creature you sacrifice with Mask of the Mimic then you don't get anything. Targets are chosen before costs are paid in the casting process, but if you sacrifice the creature you targeted then that means Mask won't have any legal targets left when it's time for it to start resolving. It will get countered by the rules of the game and will have no effect.

October 29, 2018 11:35 p.m. Edited.

OwlGamer16 says... #2

Thank you for answering! For some reason I thought Emrakul's extra turn was an ETB. I think the third thing you said is right. I don't know for sure though.

October 30, 2018 9:58 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #3

What I meant by "I don't know for sure" in the last thing is that I couldn't tell whether your idea involved sacrificing Emrakul to Mask or sacrificing a different creature. What I said about the result of sacrificing the same thing you target is correct.

October 30, 2018 12:21 p.m.

OwlGamer16 says... #4

Ah. Then yeah. Turns out I misread mask so I would be targeting the dead Emrakul for the mask to find.

October 30, 2018 2:28 p.m.

Please login to comment