Does Goblin Electromancer reduce costs of replicate?

Asked by conmanfr2005 2 years ago

Sorry if this has already been answered, but I could not find it. For example, I have Goblin Electromancer out and I cast Train of Thought. Does it only cost 1 blue mana to draw another card with it's replicate cost or still 1 blue and colorless? I didn't know if there were different rules on replicate costs so I thought I'd ask.

Thanks!

Replicate is an activated ability, so its cost will be unaffected by cards like Goblin Electromancer .

September 17, 2012 1:40 p.m.

Galed says... #2

202.4. Any additional cost listed in an objects rules text or imposed by an effect isnt part of the mana cost. (See rule 601, Casting Spells.) Such costs are paid at the same time as the spells other costs.

September 17, 2012 1:40 p.m.

hunter9000 says... #3

The Replicate cost isn't a casting cost, which is what Electromancer reduces. Replicate makes copies of the spell, which isn't the same as casting.

September 17, 2012 1:54 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #4

The formerly accepted answer was a little misleading.

The casting cost of a spell is its mana cost + any additional costs - any cost reductions. Replicate is an additional cost and therefore it will be included in the total casting cost of the spell. Say you replicate Train of Thought twice. The casting cost for Train of Thought will then be 3UUU before reductions, then Goblin Electromancer 's ability will reduce it to 2UUU. Note that cost reductions only apply once and only to the total casting cost, not once for each replication.

September 17, 2012 1:57 p.m.

braccobaldi says... #5

No, it's not a casting cost, the previous comment it's correct!

September 17, 2012 2:02 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #6

702.54a Replicate is a keyword that represents two abilities. The first is a static ability that functions while the spell with replicate is on the stack. The second is a triggered ability that functions while the spell with replicate is on the stack. "Replicate [cost]" means "As an additional cost to cast this spell, you may pay [cost] any number of times" and "When you cast this spell, if a replicate cost was paid for it, copy it for each time its replicate cost was paid. If the spell has any targets, you may choose new targets for any of the copies." Paying a spells replicate cost follows the rules for paying additional costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2eg.

Note that a mana cost is what's in the upper right corner of a card. The casting cost is different from the mana cost when additional costs and cost reductions are introduced. Goblin Electromancer changes the casting cost of a spell, not its mana cost (nothing ever changes the mana cost of a card).

September 17, 2012 2:09 p.m.

GoblinsInc says... #7

You pay for replicate as an additional cost, but it is only the total cost that the electromancer reduces, not individual parts of it. You determine the total cost, so the mana cost or alternative cost plus any cost increasers. Then you apply cost reducers like the electromancer, and then things like trinisphere. It will reduce 1 off the total cost, once.

702.54a Replicate is a keyword that represents two abilities. The first is a static ability that functions while the spell with replicate is on the stack. The second is a triggered ability that functions while the spell with replicate is on the stack. Replicate [cost] means As an additional cost to cast this spell, you may pay [cost] any number of times and When you cast this spell, if a replicate cost was paid for it, copy it for each time its replicate cost was paid. If the spell has any targets, you may choose new targets for any of the copies. Paying a spells replicate cost follows the rules for paying additional costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2eg.

September 17, 2012 2:10 p.m.

Galed says... #8

Thanks braccobaldi but i must agree with Epochalyptik. "Casting cost" isn't the same thing as "Mana cost". My answer just wasn't complete enough ;)

September 17, 2012 2:19 p.m.

Archatheron says... #9

In Epochalyptik's example, the 3UUU cost is modified to 2UUU by the Goblin Electromancer . If that player controlled two Goblin Electromancer s, would the cost be further reduced to 1UUU?

January 2, 2013 5:53 p.m.

GoblinsInc says... #10

Yes.

January 2, 2013 7:16 p.m.

Please login to comment