Does Blight Mamba kill a Glissa, the Traitor (with -2/-2)

Asked by KINGofORESKOS 1 year ago

My opponent has a Glissa, the Traitor with 2 -1/-1 counters on it from previous interactions with Blight Mamba. I swing with Blight Mamba , and my opponent blocks with Glissa. l have already paid the regeneration cost, and I have enough to do it again. Who will die? Maybe both?

Tyrant-Thanatos says... Accepted answer #2

Neither. Glissa has first strike, so she deals damage during the first strike damage step. If the Mamba regenerates from it, regeneration removes it from combat (this is one of the effects regenerate replaces death with, removal from combat), and at that point it would not assign nor deal any damage to Glissa at all.

701.13a If the effect of a resolving spell or ability regenerates a permanent, it creates a replacement effect that protects the permanent the next time it would be destroyed this turn. In this case, Regenerate [permanent] means The next time [permanent] would be destroyed this turn, instead remove all damage marked on it and tap it. If its an attacking or blocking creature, remove it from combat.

Edit: As an addendum, under the same rules, "previous interactions with Blight Mamba" would only be possible with non-combat damage, or if you had given it first strike somehow. Under circumstances where no external force is influencing the fight, combat between Glissa and Mamba will always result in Mamba dealing no damage to Glissa at all, even with regenerate.

March 9, 2018 8:20 p.m. Edited.

Please login to comment