Does Aluren allow you to cast cards?

Asked by supermill 3 years ago

If I have Aluren and Bygone Bishop on the battlefield, will any subsequent creatures I put into play with Aluren trigger Bygone Bishop? The wording on Aluren confuses me

BlueScope says... Accepted answer #1

Aluren let's you cast creatures without paying their mana cost, but it doesn't change their converted mana cost, which is always the combined mana cost (except for spells with in their cost while they're on the stack), no matter which cost alterations are applied.

So assuming you cast Omnath, Locus of Mana without paying it's mana cost, you still put a creature spell with CMC 3 on the stack. Bygone Bishop sees that and triggers, eventually getting you a Clue token.

May 21, 2016 12:40 p.m.

This discussion has been closed