Does Adaptive Automaton save 0 toughness persist creatures?

Asked by SorcerersBone 4 years ago

I'm in the middle of brewing a new modern Ally deck, using Cauldron Haze as a cheap alternative to Ghostway to dodge removal, but then I noticed the -1/-1 counters placed on each ally this way puts Hada Freeblade , Kazandu Blademaster etc in the graveyard as a state-based action, but not Adaptive Automaton .

My question is, if someone Wrath of God 's the board, say just the Automaton and Freeblade, and I respond with Cauldron Haze , does the Automaton save Freeblade when they persist?

nobu_the_bard says... Accepted answer #1

Yes. A (base) 1/1 creature entering the battlefield with a -1/-1 counter and getting a static +1/+1 buff will effectively be a 1/1. The static buff from Adaptive Automaton (and other similar things) doesn't use the stack so when states are checked everything is rosy, as long as all of the appropriate choices were made of course.

September 15, 2015 1:27 p.m.

This discussion has been closed