Do I control a Spell in my Graveyard?

Asked by mcANGELftw 2 months ago

So I run Increasing Vengeance in my deck and I understand as instant, I can play Lightning Bolt and then copy it. But could I take Lightning Bolt in my graveyard and copy it?

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

No, unfortunately that doesn't work. The only things a player can "control" are permanents on the battlefield and spells on the stack. Also, an object can only be a "spell" while it's on the stack. Increasing Vengeance can only target a spell currently on the stack, not a card in any other zone.

September 13, 2017 11:49 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #2

For comparison, see the wording on Call to Mind.

September 13, 2017 11:54 a.m.

Please login to comment