Damage assignment

Asked by polydeuces17 2 years ago

My friend attacks me with Aradara Express crewed with first strike, he attacks and I choose to block with a 0/1 plant token and Thornweald Archer . Does the attacker get to choose which creature will take the damage first or do I as the defender get to choose the defend order?

polydeuces17 says... #1

I'm sorry I found another thread after looking a bit more... Got my answer please delete..?

December 23, 2016 6:31 a.m.

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #2

For those who don't know, the attacking player decides in what order his blocked creature deals its combat damage. You assign (at minimum) lethal damage to the first creature in line then move to the next one. Then all damage is dealt simultaneously.

In the first combat damage step (created since the Train has first strike), it assigns its damage to both of the creatures blocking it with enough to kill both. They die due to lethal damage, and the Train lives through combat because Thornweald Archer never survived to deal its deathtouch damage.

December 23, 2016 11:25 a.m.

polydeuces17 says... #3

But only one of them would get hit with a first strike hit, wouldn't it? So if the token took the first hit, wouldn't the archer end up doing damage to the train?

December 23, 2016 12:29 p.m.

No.

510.1c A blocked creature assigns its combat damage to the creatures blocking it... If two or more creatures are blocking it, it assigns its combat damage to those creatures according to the damage assignment order announced for it. This may allow the blocked creature to divide its combat damage. However, it cant assign combat damage to a creature thats blocking it unless, when combat damage assignments are complete, each creature that precedes that blocking creature in its order is assigned lethal damage... An amount of damage thats greater than a creatures lethal damage may be assigned to it.

December 23, 2016 1:20 p.m.

polydeuces17 says... #5

Just for clarification 'cause I can be dumb sometimes... it's first strike affects all battles it is a part of even if there are multiple blockers?

December 23, 2016 1:28 p.m.

All fair questions.

510.5. If at least one attacking or blocking creature has first strike (see rule 702.7) or double strike (see rule 702.4) as the combat damage step begins, the only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are those with first strike or double strike. After that step, instead of proceeding to the end of combat step, the phase gets a second combat damage step. The only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are the remaining attackers and blockers that had neither first strike nor double strike as the first combat damage step began, as well as the remaining attackers and blockers that currently have double strike. After that step, the phase proceeds to the end of combat step.

December 23, 2016 1:47 p.m.

polydeuces17 says... #7

Thanks a lot man, I'm new to MTG so you're really helping :)

December 23, 2016 1:55 p.m.

This discussion has been closed