Combat Damage

Asked by michaelehrlich 4 months ago

Does combat damage only occur from a creature attacking and the damage from that attack?

Super hypothetical, bare with me ...

If Wrexial, the Risen Deep was equipped with sorcerer's wand and had vigilance, then attacked, would he be able to tap and deal 'combat' damage because its damage that occurred in the combat step?

Kogarashi says... #1

Please link cards in your question so people know what you're discussing.

Wrexial, the Risen Deep and Sorcerer's Wand

From the Comprehensive Rules (Commander 2018 (August 10, 2018)): Damage dealt during the combat damage step by attacking creatures and blocking creatures as a consequence of combat. See rule 510, “Combat Damage Step.”

Only the damage dealt by Wrexial as a consequence of his attack is combat damage, as is the damage dealt by any blocking creatures as a consequence of them blocking. Triggered and activated abilities are not combat damage.

August 9, 2018 5:20 p.m.

Kogarashi says... #2

Additionally, combat damage is specifically dealt during the Combat Damage Step, so damage dealt during any other part of the Combat Phase wouldn't count. During the Combat Damage Step, damage is assigned and then dealt without using the stack, and no player receives priority until combat damage is dealt, so you couldn't use the Sorcerer's Wand during the assignment and dealing of combat damage.

August 9, 2018 5:22 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #3

It's not so much that combat damage is only dealt during the combat damage step. While that is true, it misses the point a little. I have had someone try to argue with me that all damage in the combat damage step is combat damage.

Combat damage has three characteristics. It is dealt by creatures; in the combat damage step; as a result of combat. The most specific one here is "as a result of combat" meaning damage dealt specifically because of the turn based action outlined in 510.2. This is going to be the most useful indication of if it is combat damage. If the damage is a result of any activated or triggered ability or spell then it isn't combat damage.

August 9, 2018 9:29 p.m.

Kogarashi says... #4

Thank you for the clarification, Gidgetimer.

August 10, 2018 12:05 a.m.

Please login to comment