Card Ruling, need assistance...
Asked by SmirkyDog593 4 months ago
So I was looking through the many enchantments in MTG and I found these two, and I need help understanding their ruling. The two cards are Enchanted Evening and Starfield of Nyx . Firstly, does Enchanted Evening interact with the graveyard and deck or only what's on the field (Pretty sure it only works on what is on field but just want clarification), and with Starfield, does it work on enchantment creatures?
Also, if Enchanted Evening does work in the graveyard, does Starfield work on the permanents in the graveyard like creatures?
Permenants are only permenants on the battlefield, so Evening won’t affect your graveyard, library or hand. Same with Starfield.
Starfield will work on Enchantment creatures, their base P/T is replaced with one based on their CMC. For example a Courser of Kruphix will go from a 2/4 to a 3/3.
Sidenote, the two cards in conjunction will wipe your own lands, as they have a CMC of 0
October 6, 2018 8:14 a.m.
Ok, thank you very much for that. I had planned use only Starfield of Nyx, good thing I didn't use both. With the enchantment creature thing, will Starfield of Nyx work on their bestow cost, such as Erebos's Emissary? I doubt it, just wish to clarify.
October 6, 2018 8:23 a.m.
It will count towards Starfields activation but it specifies non-aura cards so as long as it’s bestowed it won’t turn into a creature. However if the creature it’s bestowing dies while Starfields affect is active, it will become a creature with P/T equal to its CMC
October 6, 2018 8:50 a.m.
Thanks to Unlife for the clarifications.
October 6, 2018 1:58 p.m.
For clarification, Starfield of Nyx ignores alternative casting costs like Bestow. CMC is only the combination of numbers and symbols in the top-right corner (of most cards; left-side of Future Sight timeshifted cards). Erebos's Emissary has a CMC of 4, regardless of whether or not you Bestowed it.