Bazaar Trader and Krovikan Whispers

Asked by mrshickadance 4 years ago

So I've been searching high and low for different Bazaar Trader combos other than the obvious Bronze Bombshell or the bogus Immortal Coil . So say I play Bazaar Trader turn 2, Liquimetal Coating turn 3 and then Krovikan Whispers on one of your creatures turn 4. Turn 5 I pay the the upkeep and give myself control of the enchanted creature I stole from you. Turn 6 I pay the upkeep again and give you control of Krovikan Whispers , by turning it into an artifact until end of turn, which would remain on the enchanted creature. My question is, would I still maintain control of that creature, and if so, if the upkeep doesn't get paid on your turn, do you lose the life?

Absinthman says... Accepted answer #1

This is a tricky question and I might be wrong on this one, so please feel free to disprove what I say. The way I see it, you will retain control of the creature. The reason is that the effect you created with Bazaar Trader (where you gave yourself control of the stolen creature) has a later timestamp than Krovikan Whispers . So when you give your opponent control of the Whispers, even though every "you" on Whispers now refers to your opponent, he or she won't get the creature back because of the timestamp issue I described above. And of course if your opponent fails to pay cumulative upkeep for the Whispers, the life loss will apply to him or her.

November 1, 2014 3:17 p.m.

mrshickadance says... #2

That's what I was thinking as well. Just wanted someone else to confirm this. Thanks

November 1, 2014 5:02 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Please remember to select an answer to remove your questions from the active queue.

November 2, 2014 1:03 a.m.

This discussion has been closed