Would Maralen of the Mornsong prevent my Asmodeus the Archfiend's replacement affect from being a thing?
Asked by JoyTheEnbySliverLover 1 month ago
I just want to know if I can still exile cards if both are on the battlefield. Thanks.
Rhadamanthus says... #2
JoyTheEnbySliverLover: An answer to your question has been up for a while. Since there don't seem to be any follow-ups or corrections that need to be made, I marked it as the "Accepted answer" so this topic can move out of the list of unanswered questions. In the future, you can take care of this yourself using the "Mark as Answer" button on the response that you feel is the most helpful answer to your question.
September 25, 2025 9:05 a.m.
JoyTheEnbySliverLover says... #3
Rhadamanthus Sorry, I was meant to mark it but I got distracted on the day I saw it. That's totally my bad. Thanks for marking it as answered though.
Polaris says... Accepted answer #1
No, prevention effects generally trump replacement effects. You don't attempt to draw a card and fail, you simply don't take the action, which means Asmodeus the Archfiend's replacement effect never applies.
See the Gatherer rulings on Maralen of the Mornsong: "While Maralen is on the battlefield, replacement effects that instruct a player to do something instead of drawing a card won’t work."
September 17, 2025 10:16 p.m.