whiping back lazav and something dies
Asked by amishrambo 11 years ago
lets say I use whip of erbos lazav,dimir mastermind and something(for refrence purposes lets call this card Grizzly Bears ) and lazav becomes that creature at the end of the turn will lazav now became a different creature will he get exiled from the whip at EoT?
nobu_the_bard says... #2
I don't understand the question. Lazav, Dimir Mastermind becomes a copy of a creature when it goes to the graveyard. If he was animated by Whip of Erebos , and then a Grizzly Bears died, he could become a copy of the Bears.
At the end of the turn, though, he still gets exiled by the whip, whatever he is.
March 7, 2014 4:58 p.m.
nobu_the_bard says... #3
Reread it... maybe you meant, use the Whip of Erebos on the Grizzly Bears ? That wouldn't affect Lazav at all. Also, the bears would be exiled at the end of the turn instead of going to the graveyard, so Lazav would not be able to become a copy of them.
March 7, 2014 5:02 p.m.
If you Whip back Lazav, and something dies, Lazav can become a copy of that thing, but he will still be exiled by the Whip's delayed trigger at end of turn.
If you Whip back something that is not Lazav, it will not die, so Lazav will not be able to copy it.
If you Whip back a card that Lazav had previously copied, Lazav will not be exiled, because the Whip tracks that specific card, not copies of it.
March 7, 2014 5:05 p.m.
amishrambo says... #5
if I whip back lazav then grizzly bears dies and lazav becomes a copy of grizzly bears does lazav(who is now a copy of that card) be exiled by the whip EoT exile effect?
March 7, 2014 6:17 p.m.
Yes, Lazav will still get exiled. It is still the same object from the rules perspective, just with different characteristics, and so will be exiled by the Whip's delayed triggered ability.
amishrambo says... #1
Whip of Erebos Lazav, Dimir Mastermind
March 7, 2014 4:33 p.m.