When I'm targeting with an exiled spell...

Asked by -MisterJ- 11 years ago

This question comes about from a deck I noted on here tonight and would like to see the public answers.

Nivmagus Elemental is in play with Akroan Crusader and I cast Titan's Strength targeting Crusader, but before I allow it to resolve, assuming there is no response, I exile the spell to Nivmagus. Question 1 is, does Crusader trigger?

Question 2 revolves around the same mechanic with Nivix Cyclops when I cast Dragonshift on him, assuming the spell resolves do I have a 7/4 flyer?

CptDanger says... Accepted answer #1

The Akroan Crusader 's trigger will be placed on the stack, and it still resolves even after exiling the spell to Nivmagus Elemental .

Once you target A.C. with any spell its Heroic ability is triggered and placed on the stack. Its ability does not check whether or not the spell resolves or not.

As for the second part of your question, I think the answer belongs in layering. I'm not too savvy with layering, but I do believe the Nivix Cyclops would become a 7/4 flying dragon without defender and the triggered ability. (I'm trying my best to interpret this chart: http://www.wizards.com/magic/magazine/article.aspx?x=judge/article/20091105a)

January 25, 2014 7:33 a.m.

-MisterJ- says... #2

I suppose I forgot that AC's ability hits the stack in response to the targeting ability. Therefor when the stack reverses to resolve the spell is exiled, he pumps ability, then the exiled spell fizzles.

Layers are difficult and hence that was the real issue with my comprehension. Any further light that can be shed on the subject would be appreciated.

January 25, 2014 7:45 a.m.

KrosanTusker says... #3

The "becomes a 4/4" is a Power/Toughness setting effect, and the "gets +3/+0" is a Power/Toughness changing effect that doesn't set. The setting effect is on layer 7b and the not setting effect is on layer 7c, so the Cyclops becomes a 4/4 first, then gets +3/+0 because 7b is above 7c. Hope that helps!

January 25, 2014 8:10 a.m.

-MisterJ- says... #4

So does that mean you don't get a 7/4 with flying?

January 25, 2014 6:47 p.m.

KrosanTusker says... #5

No, you do get a 7/4. The 4/4 part is applied first because it sets power and toughness (setting them each to four), then the +3/+0 part.
Layers are applied from the top down, so the "becomes 4/4" part is applied first. After it's become a 4/4, it then gets +3/+0.

January 26, 2014 8:45 a.m.

This discussion has been closed