When I cast Kindred Dominance and choose Shapeshifter, does my shapeshifters survive even though they are copies of other creature types?

Asked by ogglas 5 months ago

Let's say my Clone (Shapeshifter) is a copy of an opponents Sun Titan (Giant). I then cast Kindred Dominance and choose 'Shapeshifter'. Does my Clone survive?

pizzagod13 says... Accepted answer #1

No, because the shapeshifter is currently a giant. When it becomes another creature it loses all creature types.

April 24, 2019 3:31 p.m.

pskinn01 says... #2

When a card copies another object. It becomes that object in every way unless the effect that made it a copy states otherwise. So your clone would be an exact copy of what is printed sun titan. So it's a giant with a converted mana cost of 4WW with the name sun titan. It would no longer have any of it's original attributes. So it would no longer be a shapeshifter.

April 24, 2019 4:56 p.m.

dragonstryke58 says... #3

When your Clone enters as a copy of Sun Titan it copies all "copiable values" of the original object. One of these values is subtype (creature type is a subtype).

As stated above, your Clone will now use all the copied information of Sun Titan (meaning it will no longer be a shapeshifter).

For reference:

706.2. When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original object's characteristics and, for an object on the stack, choices made when casting or activating it (mode, targets, the value of X, whether it was kicked, how it will affect multiple targets, and so on). The "copiable values" are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name, mana cost, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, rules text, power, toughness, and/or loyalty), as modified by other copy effects, by its face-down status, and by "as . . . enters the battlefield" and "as . . . is turned face up" abilities that set power and toughness (and may also set additional characteristics). Other effects (including type-changing and text-changing effects), status, and counters are not copied.

and

706.3. The copy's copiable values become the copied information, as modified by the copy's status (see rule 110.6). Objects that copy the object will use the new copiable values.

April 24, 2019 6:57 p.m.

ogglas says... #4

Thank you all for your answers. I'll mark pizzagod as the answer because he was first.

April 25, 2019 3:26 a.m.

Please login to comment