What happens when I recurr Celestial Gatekeeper while its death trigger is still on the stack?

Asked by seshiro_of_the_orochi 1 month ago

Let's assume the following: I control a Celestial Gatekeeper that's enchanted with Kaya's Ghostform .

Gatekeeper dies, both cards trigger. I put the Gatekeeper trigger first and Ghostform second. Ghostform's trigger resolves and returns Gatekeeper to the field. The Gatekeeper trigger is next to resolve. As Gatekeeper's ability, similar to Gerrard, Weatherlight Hero 's, doesn't contain the "if you do" wording, I'm assuming I'll still be able to return two birds and/or clerics to the battlefield, although gatekeeper wasn't exiled.

I tried some online-research, but couldn't find too much unfortunately.

Can anyone confirm or deny? Thanks in advance.

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

You are correct. It doesn't use the "if you do" wording, so the return isn't contingent on the exile. Since the gatekeeper is no longer in the graveyard the exile part of the ability does nothing as per 603.6, but the return part of the ability still functions.

603.6. Trigger events that involve objects changing zones are called “zone-change triggers.” Many abilities with zone-change triggers attempt to do something to that object after it changes zones. During resolution, these abilities look for the object in the zone that it moved to. If the object is unable to be found in the zone it went to, the part of the ability attempting to do something to the object will fail to do anything. The ability could be unable to find the object because the object never entered the specified zone, because it left the zone before the ability resolved, or because it is in a zone that is hidden from a player, such as a library or an opponent’s hand. (This rule applies even if the object leaves the zone and returns again before the ability resolves.) The most common zone-change triggers are enters-the-battlefield triggers and leaves-the-battlefield triggers.

June 20, 2021 1:18 p.m.

Gidgetimer: Thanks for clarifying. I have a follow-up questionn about the stated rule:

"This rule applies even if the object leaves the zone and returns again before the ability resolves."

I'm aware that this mostly relates to, for example, blinking an evoked creature before the sacrifice part of evoke triggers, so you don't have to sacrifice it. But if we had a hypothetical "grave-blink spell" like this:


Hide from the Reaper

Instant

Exile target card from a graveyard, then return it to its owner's graveyard.


...would this resolve in Gatekeeper's trigger not finding it and thus not exiling it?

June 20, 2021 1:37 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #3

That is correct. Any time a card leaves a zone and then reenters that some it is a new game object.

June 20, 2021 6:30 p.m.

Gidgetimer That's a really new thing I learned today in addition to having my question answered. Thank you very much!

June 20, 2021 11:34 p.m.

Please login to comment