What happens when a player loses the game?

Asked by daniferrito 11 years ago

That is, in a multiplayer game. Especifically, what happens with:

Creatures he owns that are attacking (Do they disapear instantly, or after doing damage?)Spells he owns still on the stack (Do they get to resolve or do they get removed instantly?)Creatures he controlls but doesent own (Like an effect that puts a creature under his control but is not linked to another permanent, or a gifted permanent like the Akroan Horse )Effects he placed (like a +2/+2 untill end of turn)

daniferrito says... #1

Just realized the formating got screwed over. Hope it is still understandable. Each part should have been in its own paragraph

November 3, 2013 11:03 p.m.

GreatSword says... Accepted answer #2

This should cover it:

  • 800.4a When a player leaves the game, all objects owned by that player leave thegame, any effects which give that player control of any objects or players end, and all spells andabilities controlled by that player on the stack cease to exist. Then, if there are any objects stillcontrolled by that player, those objects are exiled. This is not a state-based action. It happens assoon as the player leaves the game. If the player who left the game had priority at the time he orshe left, priority passes to the next player in turn order whos still in the game.

Basically everything that player owned or was the source of is removed from the game.

November 3, 2013 11:07 p.m.

daniferrito says... #3

Ok, that leaves only the temporary buffs open (Something like Giant Growth )

I assume those will stay.

There is also another possibility. You got control of a creature with Act of Treason or something similar, then you give control of that creature to another player (who is not the owner) through Bazaar Trader . Would that effect stay when the player that gave control leaves the game?

November 4, 2013 12:36 a.m.

Drilnoth says... #4

Regarding Giant Growth and other many other buffs: Giant Growth is a one-time effect which lasts until end of turn. Assuming that it wasn't the turn of the player who left, those will continue until end of turn. They aren't being continuously "created" by their source, they are created and linger on the target.

The same is true for the Bazaar Trader scenario. Alright, let's say that there are three players (we'll call them Andrew, Nancy, and Nova; it is Andrew's turn). Andrew casts Act of Treason on Nancy's creature and gains control of it until end of turn. He then uses his Bazaar Trader to give the creature to Nova. The creature is given to Nova. Here's what happens if a given player concedes:

  • If Andrew concedes, Nova will keep the creature because Bazaar Trader 's control effect is instantaneous. It isn't "erased" when Andrew leaves the game.
  • If Nancy concedes, the creature "leaves the game" based on the comprehensive rules quote above. It simply ceases to exist; it isn't even exiled.
  • If Nova concedes, then (and I'm not 100% sure of this one) then the most recent control effect will be that of Act of Treason , and Alex will get it back. I'm honestly not sure of the timing of this and if Nancy would eventually get the creature back or not. Something new for me to research. :)
November 4, 2013 3:53 a.m.

This discussion has been closed